University of Calcutta, Kolkata - Reviews

University of Calcutta, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal UGC, NAAC-A Estd 1857 State University

College rating

based on 18 students ratings

7.3/10

8.6/10academic
6.2/10accommodation
8.4/10faculty
7.2/10infrastructure
6.2/10placements
6.9/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

gender ratio
fee structure
exam structure
course structure
admission
scholarship
curriculum
semester
internship
placement
facility
faculty
management
research
hostel
Pritam PanjaM.sc(math)Pursued
BATCH : 2017
5.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

Our college is really good,its outsider environment is really good,here no fight for politics ,here no sign for ragging,here everyone is helpful ,security in every gate,they helped newcomer ,it s eight floors ,and lift provided so no problem.


Admission -

I am student under Calcutta university, students of city college, i have got 565 marks, in 3year of b.sc, after the finale year result out , i form fillup for m.sc, after few days later they published the merit list , i got chanced


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
2/10food & accom
1/10placement
2/10social life
SwetaM.comPursued
BATCH : 2020
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Review of university of calcutta

Remarks -

The university has the best faculty members. The university ranks 5th in India. It has heritage infrastructure. It carries both modernity and tradionality at the same time. Also provides hostel facility to the students.


Admission -

After submitting the form university out merit list of students once there is name in the merit list verification of documents is done. After verification by paying admission fee i got admitted into university.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
8/10social life
Anurag Banerjee4 year Btech in Chemical EngineeringPursued
BATCH : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Nice place

Remarks -

Politics is less that is positive. You dont need to be a part of the union but can easily take part in the events they organise like trips and festivities as well as sports tournaments but these tournaments are not endorsed by the department.


Admission -

I got some 4.3k rank in WBJEE 2017. Then got admission in Chemical Technology Dept here in the third round of counselling and then got admission in Chemical engineering in first spot round held in the campus.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
7/10social life
ShubhamB.comPursued
BATCH : 2020
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BEST COLLEGE FOR B.COM

Remarks -

Negative remark is only that some of the teacher are comfortable in speaking bengali and english only and they have some sort of problem in speaking hindi otherwise everything in college is NO.1.u will never feel bore in college


Admission -

I had applied for the merit list for my college my name was in the first cut off merit listand i got selected.i had to go through the interview where i was asked logical questions ex. Why i wished to be on this college only and many more question like hobbies future goals etc


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
Suparno BanerjeeBachelor of Technology [B.Tech] (Optics and Optoelectronics)Pursued 1st year
BATCH : 2023
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Awesome

Remarks -

Good : 1) ROI(Return of investment), 2) Exposure, 3) UG research, 4) Small Batch size(10-15), 5) World class faculties, 6) Labs, Classrooms, Library are fully air conditioned and equipped with recent tech. 7) Centre of excellence, TEQIP Fund phase-3 by World Bank 8) Top-5 Univ. of India, Top 70 in Asia and top 500 in world(according to shanghai rankings) and top 800 in world (according to QS) Bad : 1) The 4year B.Tech course just started in 2015. So it has yet to create its mark. 2) The campus is kind of 'small' 3) Yes, some politics is present in the Rajabazar campus but its a minor issue. 4) I really can't find anything more.


Admission -

I gave WBJEE 2019 and secured 3.3k rank with 74 marks. Exam paper was hard that year and my target was at least 100marks or under 1k rank but due to silly mistakes, I failed. A small note of caution for future aspirants: plz don't take wbjee lightly as I did.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
9/10placement
5/10social life
MeghjitMaster of Technology [M.Tech] (Microwave Electronics)Pursued Second Year
BATCH : 2018
7.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

4 years and still....

Remarks -

Well, as a whole the condition is not upto the standard level but despite this, I am optimistic since the management tries to cope-up with the other colleges.


Entrance Preview -

I had an M.Sc entrance test where I was eligible for B.tech instead of M.Sc according to my rank.This college has a very enriched past and so I choose the legacy over my desire.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
6/10placement
6/10social life
Bhaban BasakMaster of Computer Application [MCA] + Master of Business Administration [MBA]Batch : 2010
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I appeared JECA exam for this and cleared it and got admission in MCA course in 2007. I passed out from university in 2010 and started job life in MNC. But I miss my college day till now.


Admission -

I did B.sc in Mathematics honours from Santipur college under Kalyani University. Then I go for JECA examination and I cleared it and got a seat in University of Calcutta. It was one of best moment and I got a seat in Hostel (PG Hostel). It was the best ever time, I spent in hostel and college.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
Sk waqar afzalBachelor of Commerce [B.Com]Batch : 2012
9.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

MAT 70% because I get the admission to take the exam then I entries and very good experience and good facility so I have to decide to give an exam.


Admission -

I got admission to take examination then I obtain the form and submitted the form and fill up then got the date to submission the form then I will be shortlisted to take admission after that I got the date to come for the submitted to my document then I submitted the document then I received an acknowledge slip then I pay fees.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
Mainak MukherjeeMaster of Science [M.Sc] (Applied Geology)Batch : 2011
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

The admission was based on the graduation marks only. I have pursued my graduation in Geology so it was obvious that I would opt for this course in this great and renowned university.


Admission -

They have asked us to submit the mark-sheet with the filled in form. And then the merit list was published. Then they asked for the counseling on a specific date and on the basis of the counseling, the final merit list was published and they asked to deposit the admission fee on the specific date.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
5/10placement
8/10social life
RishavMaster of Science [MS] (Biotechnology)Batch : 2016
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Learning to live.

Remarks -

College management is very helpful and provides ample assistance in case of any difficulty. The management is quite informative regarding notifications for extra classes, class cancellations or applications for scholarships. There is a very active collaborative program and students get sent out to various national and international centers for exposure. The management also handles any complaints and students grievances. There is an active students council which is forum for this purpose. The management also coordinates several events such as annual tests as well as alumni meets.


Entrance Preview -

We had to apply to St.Xavier's College through it's own application system which takes into account one's higher secondary performance. Thus, we had to score above a certain cutoff to stand a chance for selection into this college. I had the following subject combination for my higher secondary education-Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and Biology. In the Indian School Certificate examinations I had scored an aggregate percentage of 94%. For admissions to my graduate course in Biotechnology, thi...


8/10academic
8/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
4/10food & accom
8/10placement
7/10social life

Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Visva Bharati University - [VBU], Birbhum logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

Visva Bharati University - [VBU]

Birbhum, West Bengal
UGC
Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC-A
University of Kalyani, Kalyani logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.5 / 10

University of Kalyani

Kalyani, West Bengal
UGC
St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

St. Xavier's College - [SXC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Shri Shikshayatan College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NCTE

NEARBY COLLEGES

Presidency University, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

Presidency University

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Loreto College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10

Loreto College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
BA 6.9 ₹24.12 K first year fees
Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.9 / 10

Gokhale Memorial Girls' College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
BA 6.6 ₹27.14 K first year fees
The Bhawanipur Education Society College - [BESC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
UGC
Seth Soorajmull Jalan Girls College - [S.S.J.G.C], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING4.7 / 10

news view all

November 18, 2019

MAT 2020: Notification, Exam Dates, Application Form, Eligibility and Pattern

MAT 2020 is conducted by AIMA in both online and offline mode, 4-times a year i.e. in the month of February, May, September, and December. MAT is a national examination conducted for the candidates seeking admission in management programs. Based on the MAT Score, candidates will be offered admiss

November 14, 2019

CAT 2019 Exam Day Guidelines- Check Do's and Don'ts

IIM Kozhikode released Exam Day Guidelines for CAT 2019 aspirants. The exam is scheduled for November 24, 2019 (Sunday). Candidates must reach the exam center with their printed CAT Admit Ca

November 14, 2019

Tips to solve passage based questions in CAT 2019

Verbal Ability & Reading Comprehension (VARC) is one of the most important and high scoring section of the CAT examination. The weightage of Reading Comprehension is higher in CAT than in any other MBA entrance examination. Reading comprehension in the

November 11, 2019

LM Thapar 2019 MBA Selection Process

LM Thapar School of Management was founded on July 23, 2007, in Patiala (Punjab, India) under the aegis of Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology. Aside from offering extremely lucrative core courses and doctoral programs, LM Thapar School of Management specializes in offering business an

November 11, 2019

IIM Ahmedabad 2019 Placement and Salary Report

The Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad (IIMA) is one of the top ranked business schools across the world. Established in 1961, IIMA is recognized globally for excellence in management education.  IIMA’s Post Graduate Programme for Executives (P

November 11, 2019

XIMB Admission Criteria 2020: Check Expected CAT Cutoff Score

Xavier Institute of Management, Bhubaneshwar one among the twelve private b-schools under Xavier University, Bhubaneshwar. The university is home to the management aspirants all over the country. Candidates who are willing to take admission in any one of the management programs from the

November 11, 2019

IIM Bangalore 2019 Placement Report

Ranked first in NIRF for India’s top business schools, IIM Bangalore continues to establish itself as an ambassador of management and business education.  IIM Bangalore has 3 kinds of placements occurring throughout the calendar year - summer placeme

November 11, 2019

Audencia Nantes School of Management Admission through CAT

Audencia Nantes School is one of the top European business schools located in Nantes, France. The school offers many programs for national as well as international students. One of the most sought after a program offered by the school is Master in Management.  The school offers the

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Tech Oil TechnologyAVG FEE - ₹7,707/Yr
4 Years
BA (Vocational Studies)AVG FEE - ₹1,084/Yr
3 Years
B.Tech Ceramic EngineeringAVG FEE - ₹7,707/Yr
4 Years
view more courses[296]

Other Colleges In The Same Group

news

departments

Placements

faculties

Dr. Nilanjan DebAssociate Professor, Department of Agronomy
Prof. Alak Kumar MandalProfessor, Department of Plant Physiology
Dr. Sitanath MazumdarProfessor, Department of Business Management
view all faculties[15]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Rabindra Bharati University - [RBU], Kolkata logo

Rabindra Bharati University - [RBU], Kolkata

BA , ₹ 2.82 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo

Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata

BA , ₹ 1.55 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.0
Jadavpur University, Kolkata logo

Jadavpur University, Kolkata

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 2.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.4
University of Burdwan, Bardhaman logo

University of Burdwan, Bardhaman

MA , ₹ 2.96 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.7
Loreto College, Kolkata logo

Loreto College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 24.12 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.8
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo

Asutosh College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 7.25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Vidyasagar College - [VSC], Kolkata logo

Vidyasagar College - [VSC], Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 5.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
6.4
Presidency University, Kolkata logo

Presidency University, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
Bethune College, Kolkata logo

Bethune College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 1.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.4
×