NEP 2020: Steering Committee of 12 members to be Formed in UP 

Aarushi Kalra Aarushi Kalra
Exams Prep Master

The Uttar Pradesh Education Department has formed a 12 member steering committee for effective implementation of NEP 2020 in secondary schools of the state. The first meeting for the same is scheduled to be held tomorrow i.e. September 16.

The committee members include former CBSE Chairman Ashok Ganguly, former CBSE Secretary, Secondary Education Sandhya Tewari, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Technical University (AKTU) Vice-Chancellor Vinay Kumar Pathak, former Chairman of National Institute of Open School, Mahesh Chandra Pant, former CBSE Controller of Examination Pavnesh Kumar and Director of Basic Education Sarvendra Vikram Bahadur Singh.

Also Read: No Plan to Revise Reservation Norms in NEP 2020, Says Education Minister

The committee also nominated a few members who are not government officials so as to view the implementation of National Education Policy (NEP) 2020 from an outsider's point of view. Few such nominated members are Founder Director of ICS Amrita Dass, UK India Business Council (UKIBC) and former CEO of NSDC, Skill India Mission, Jayant Krishna and Founding President and CEO of Study Hall Educational Foundation, Urvashi Sahni.

All the committee members are to be assisted by the Director of SCERT, Lalita Pradeep and Joint Education Director, Bhagwati Prasad, and officer Vivek Nautiyal.

Also Read: Gujarat Govt Forms 4 Sub-Committees to Prepare Roadmap for the Implementation of NEP

Jayant Krishna expressed his views about being nominated, "I would like to help UP Government enhance learning outcomes at each level of secondary education while ensuring equitable and inclusive education. Optimized usage of technology in pedagogy would be my priority."

Amrita Dass considers it as an invaluable opportunity to make a meaningful contribution to the education department for transforming the career scenario in UP, particularly in the post COVID-19 era. 

Also Read: TN Government Forms 13 Member High-Level Committee to Study Key Areas under NEP 2020