Indian Maritime University - [IMU], Chennai - Reviews

Chennai, Tamil Nadu UGC Estd 2008 Central University 1 Questions Answered

College Rating

Based on 58 Students RatingClaim this college

7.4 out of 10
7.7/10Academic
7.1/10Accommodation
7.9/10Faculty
7.5/10Infrastructure
7.4/10Placement
7.0/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Management (29)
Engineering (16)
Engineering (11)

Most Popular Tags

Campus (35)
Hostel (27)
Experience (26)
Fee Structure (17)
Good Placement (16)
Course Curriculum (11)
Semester Exam (9)
Course Structure (8)
Extra Curricular (7)
Gender Ratio (7)
Entrance Exam (6)
Entrance Test (6)
Extracurricular (6)
Merit List (6)
Mess Food (6)

58 Reviews found


DP
6.8 /10

Remarks

The infrastructure and other facilities provided by the College is good. The faculties are good and caring. A grear experience to be a student of Indian Maritime University. The non teaching staffs are also treated well.

9 /10 faculty
3 /10 placement
3 /10 social life
10 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
HT
8.0 /10

Remarks

Very good academics and sports but the help or facilities we need is not given to us when we need it and the organization is not supportive. The director we need must be supportive and should understand us like Yogesh shah sir was the best director of IMU.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
6 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AM
8.5 /10

Remarks

Positives - Infrastructure , Faculty , Campus placements Negatives - It's actually quite far off from the city of Chennai , roughly 30kms from Chennai Central , A ship simulator is a thing which you are certainly going to miss here , apart from that what can be a con for someone is that during the first year of our training there are a lot of restrictions levied upon the candidates , although it's only for our good and for our personality development.

9 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
Ak
7.8 /10

Remarks

College is good for academic but practice skill is lagging academically it is very good.Out of 90 cadet 50 cadets are holder of merit based reward and topper of all the sem from our batch.college is lagging in practical aspects.

8 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
6 /10 social life
10 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
TR
8.5 /10

Remarks

If you wanna pursue your career in the field of marine sector then Indian Maritime University is the best institute and it is also a central university.

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
D
7.5 /10

Remarks

No bad remarks on my college, it is well equipped for students.

7 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
7 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
as
10.0 /10

Placement Experience

10/10

Every Year so many companies are coming to our college. And place record also 100 percent. And so famous companies like bruhart logistics or Cosco shipping and Db Schemker and Tokyo freight company. Good rich logistics.

Remarks

First of all my university is central govt. university and Chennai is the head branch. In our university environment is so friendly and college staff and professors highly experienced and qualified. The bad thing is fees as per the govt. college is a little bit high. The admission process is very simple and every year Feb or March. They will issue CET form that you can fill and as per the merit, you will get the seat. Why I was choosed this college because my brother already passed out MBA student from this college only nd he said this college education quality is super.

10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 interview
10 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More

S
7.1 /10

Remarks

My college is in Navi Mumbai and is made very close to sea.And everything is easily available as there is Mall near to my College. It does not have a very good auditorium for conducting any cultural function or any other functions. I choose this college as I want to travel whole world. Any one can get admission by clearing IMU CET exam which is held in the month of May-June. I choose this college because it is one of the oldest Maritime College

Placement Experience

8/10

8 companies visited last year. All were MNCs with a basic package of 400-500 dollars. From our 3rd year out of 143 mostly students are placed that is about 85%. After completion of my degree I have to complete my necessary courses so as soon as possible I could get onboard.

6 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
8 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
7 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

SK
7.7 /10

Remarks

A very reputed and respected college in the field of maritime organisations and has a higher cutoff than other marine colleges making it the most elite marine engineering college in the country. Also the alumni base is very strong so jobs are comparatively easier to get here

Placement Experience

5/10

The job opportunities here varies on the type of students as only academic grades don't promise a job as a seafarer. Almuni networking is amazing though as alumni from this college holds the topmost posts in major shipping companies around the globe and hence this college is held in very high regards while considering for a job

8 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More

VK
7.3 /10

Remarks

It is the oldest marine college in india and has a legacy of its own. Since it is a government college the fees is comparatively lower than other marine colleges. It has good infrastructure with a campus area of 35 acres with reside in campus facilities for the cadets of the college. It has a workshop of its own and is also the biggest workshop in asia as compared to any other marine college in asia.It also is at a place where we have eveything that a student could need. It also has several labs, simulators, engines for proper study and research for cadets. it also host the fest known as Tempest and several other co - curricular competition for an all round development of cadets. it also has sports like cricket, football, basketball, volleyball, tennis that can help you in keeping yourself fit. It also has a olympic size swimming pool, a park, a gym for the cadets. Talking about the placements, this college has the best placement scenario that any other college with almost 70% placement. comapnies like NYK,chevron, fleet, MSC, Dokecdale, Anglo eastern visit the campus every year.

Placement Experience

7/10

Almost 70% cadets are placed each year. Repeater shipping companies like and NYK, chevron, anglo eastern, MSC comes into the campus to recruit TME from the campus. since, it is the oldest marine college of india, the alumni network is quite strong. The alumni constantly help the cadets in getting placed in reputed shipping companies all over the world. Everyone gets 2 chances to appear for the placement drive. The cadets are shortlisted based on their CV, then we have a one to one interview with the HR team and in the end followed by a medical checkup. One who qualifies everthing is placed in turn. The placement process is good and gives everyone an equal opportunity to get placed.

8 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
report
Read More

Comments


1 Comments
S
saif ahmad
My avg marks in science is 58.can i give entrance exam(imu cet)
A
akansha expert

Hello Saif, As You are not eligible for Entrance test, the candidates should have passed 10+2 with minimum 60% marks in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics taken together. Eligible candidates are required to appear in the Common Entrance Test (CET) conducted by the university.


- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Marine Engineering And Research Institute - [MERI]
REVIEWS RATING
8.7 /10
B.Sc 4.5 2.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Maritime University
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10

Indian Maritime University

Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra
Tolani Maritime Institute - [TMI]
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10
Indian Maritime University - [IMU]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

Indian Maritime University - [IMU]

Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
BE/B.Tech 4.5 2.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies and Research
REVIEWS RATING
9 /10
B.Sc 2.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
International Maritime Institute - [IMI]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

International Maritime Institute - [IMI]

Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
BE/B.Tech 2.25 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Department of Management Studies, IIT Madras - [DoMS IIT Madras]
REVIEWS RATING
8.7 /10
M.Phil/Ph.D in Management 8.0 11.20 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Great Lakes Institute of Management
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10
PG Diploma in Management 8.0 16.01 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Loyola Institute of Business Administration - [LIBA]
REVIEWS RATING
8.8 /10
MBA/PGDM 7.2 6.10 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Department of Management Studies, Anna University - [DOMS]
MBA/PGDM 7.0 20.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sairam Institute of Management Studies - [SIMS]
MBA/PGDM 6.5 75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
IIKM Business School
REVIEWS RATING
6.9 /10

IIKM Business School

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
BBA/BBM 6.4
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

IMU CET 2020: Registration for M.Tech Counselling Starts; Check Details Here
December 03, 2020
IMU CET 2020: Registration for M.Tech Counselling Starts; Check Details Here

Indian Maritime University (IMU) has started the registration process for counselling of M.Tech courses. Applicants who are interested to apply can do so by visiting the official website of the institute; imu.edu.in. Following the registration for the counselling 2 admission lists will be release

IMU CET 2020: Final UG Admission List released at imu.edu.in; Check here
November 21, 2020
IMU CET 2020: Final UG Admission List released at imu.edu.in; Check here

As per the recent updates, Indian Maritime University has released the UG Final Admission List 2020 for IMU CET 2020 which was earlier scheduled to be released on November 12, 2020.  IMU has released the IMU CET 2020 first seat allocation list for admission to various courses

IMU CET 2020 Answer Key, Question Paper and Analysis
June 20, 2020
IMU CET 2020 Answer Key, Question Paper and Analysis

Indian Maritime University CET is scheduled to be conducted on the 16th of August, 2020. The results for this examination will be declared by the second week of June, 2020 at imu.edu.in. As per the officials, no IMU CET answer keys will be released by the regulating body. The unofficial answer ke

Indian Maritime University (IMU) Result 2021 (Released) @imu.edu.in; Check UG, PG Results Here
February 23, 2021
Indian Maritime University (IMU) Result 2021 (Released) @imu.edu.in; Check UG, PG Results Here

Indian Maritime University (IMU) came into being through an Act of Parliament (Act 22) on 14th November 2008 as a Central University. The examinations are conducted on a semester basis i.e. odd semester and even semester. The odd semester is conducted in the month of December and even a semester

IMU CET Exam Pattern and Syllabus for UG Courses
June 16, 2017
IMU CET Exam Pattern and Syllabus for UG Courses

The registration for IMU CET 2017 started from March 25, 2017. IMU CET 2017 is conducted by Indian Maritime University for admission to various Undergraduate and Postgraduate programmes offered by IMU and its affiliated Institutes.  IMU CET consists of Multiple Choice Questions Total du

IMU CET 2018 Admit Card
June 09, 2017
IMU CET 2018 Admit Card

IMU CET Admit Card 2018 is expected to be published at Indian Maritime University official website starting from last week of May 2018.   Admit Card is a vital document to be carried along at the time of examination expected to be scheduled in the month of June 2018. It can be downloade

IMU CET 2018 Exam Pattern
June 02, 2017
IMU CET 2018 Exam Pattern

IMU CET is the popular name for Indian Maritime University Common Entrance Test. Indian Maritime University is a central university providing quality education in the field of maritime. It is a computer based online entrance test. Exam contains only multiple-choice questions, 200 in number.

IMU CET Result 2018
June 02, 2017
IMU CET Result 2018

IMU CET 2018 Results will be declared for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in the month of May 2018. On the basis of IMU CET Score, candidates will be selected for the counselling procedure. Hall ticket number and date of birth is required to check the result Answer key will be avail

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

MBA Port & Shipping Management AVG FEE - ₹ 200,000/Yr
2 Years
BBA Logistics Management AVG FEE - ₹ 100,000/Yr
3 Years

Faculties

Dr. B. Swaminathan Assistant Professor, Department of Maritime Management
Smt. Lekha C. Ravi Assistant Professor, Department of Maritime Management
Shri C. P. Balaji Assistant Professor, Department of Marine Engineering

Reviews