My review of NITK Surathkal

PA
8.3 /10

Remarks :

The brand, NITK is among the top 3 NITs in India. The peer group is excellent and a lot of exposure is provided at a very early age. Placement is also at par with some of the IITs and best among the NITs. NIRF rankings are improving significantly every year, with increasing collaboration with other universities and infrastructure. Mangalore is also a nice city to live, very green and clean, with a lot of good places to visit nearby. The downside is weather isn't that great, very hot and humid in summers and it rains like hell during monsoons. The faculty isn't that great teaching wise, although they have huge knowledge and exposure. They have gradauted from top universities and have good research experience. The research and entrepreneurship facilities aren't that great but they are improving gradually. I used Siksha.com, collegedunia, collegedekho as my reference.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The new curriculum is excellent, with the elimination of outdated courses and introduction of minors, one's branch hardly matters if one wants to do something else. I had chosen metallurgy since I felt like exploring this field and not following the rat race of chosing a circuit branch. The faculty student ratio is quite healthy in my branch, with around 35 students in a class. Academics is quite tough, there is relative grading and it becomes tough to compete with others sometimes. Some of the faculty teaches wonderfully, but a lot of them lack the essential teaching skills.

Placement Experience :

College has excellent placements, and internship opportunities. People in 6th sem onwards are eligible to apply for internship and 8th sem onwards can apply for placement. Highest package was that of Microsoft with 42 lakhs and average was around 7 lakhs.There were around 400 companies that visited last year and recruited around 900 people. There is almost 100% placement. I have a job offer from a reputed IT firm.

College Events :

We have annual cultural fest called incident with amazing indian and international artists and a technical fest called engineer. There is a new library which has some excellent books and journals. A new sports complex was constructed recently with advanced facilities and a new gym as well. Also, we have a Olympic size swimming pool and cricket and football fields. There are a ton of student run technical and cultural clubs in the campus, whose information an be found on the college website.

Fee Structure And Facilities :

The tution fees for my batch was Rs 70000 per year and 25k per semester for mess. Fee structure at the beginning of the course remains constant throughout the 4 years. There is financial assistance for people whose family income is below 5 and 1 lakh. I got placed through the campus itself.


8.3 out of 10
7.0/10Faculty
8.0/10Placement
9.0/10Course
7.0/10Campus Life
9.0/10College
8.0/10Hostel Life
9.0/10Interviews
9.0/10Internships

Similar Reviews View All

d
3.5 /10

Placement Experience :

From the 3rd semester, students become eligible for placements and internship. I wish to get placed for a reasonable salary before I get my degree. Almost all the students who take part throughout the placement process somehow get placed. 3 LPA and 4 LPA is common. Other higher packages are very hard to get selected for.

5 /10 placement
4 /10 college
6 /10 course
1 /10 interview
4 /10 internship
1 /10 campus life
A
7.4 /10

Placement Experience :

Since I am pursuing my MCA in the first semester, so according to previous year highest package was near about 12 lakh per annum and the college provides some decent package placement record is near about 30 to 40%.

6 /10 placement
8 /10 college
9 /10 course
5 /10 interview
9 /10 campus life
pa
7.8 /10

Placement Experience :

In the 6th semester, students are eligible for placements. Over 250 companies visited and almost 65% of students were placed. The highest package was about 43 lpa and lowest was 3.3 lpa and avg as 7.5 lpa. some companies that came were amazon, hp, dell, bosch, Maruti, L and T, Microsoft, etc My plan is to do masters.

7 /10 placement
9 /10 college
7 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
7 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
S
10.0 /10

Remarks :

The subjects I was interested were present,My combination was psychology,criminology, english major.Criminology is one of the rarest subject present. And the friendly atmosphere here made me to finalise the college.

Placement Experience :

There are programs conducted by companies to give placements. PG graduates are given Opportunities to work in national & international companies.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
D
8.7 /10

Remarks :

As per my knowledge we have not faced any problem in college regarding fees education etc so I don't have any bad remarks

Admission :

I got into this college through CET exams. I wanted to choose mechanical but i got know about industry 2.0. that is the industries are becoming more developed and becoming more equipped in India these days so I choose this course. the college environment made me select this college. It's very peaceful and greenery is all over the campus with the bus facilities and near to our house and situated in a very nice region of the city.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
S
7.0 /10

Remarks :

Excellent and experienced faculty, opportunity to be an apprentice while you study, one of the best universities for all-round development like sports and cultural activities. Also houses meaningful tie-ups with organisations like IEEE and ISRO to provide fruitful placement and internship opportunities.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
5 /10 social life
7 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life

Admission :

After completing my higher secondary I applied fro BAMS at SSCASR, I got 67% in my boards in science stream, the minimum eligibility is 50%. I had to submit the application in person at the office, the admissions part is administered by the Rajiv Gandhi university, counselling is done under them, the application fee is Rs. 2000.

Placement Experience :

Placement happens once in a year, most of them are selected by the companies most of them turn down the offer and opt for higher studies. The placement record is overall good, enough training is given to us before attending the placements.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
H
8.8 /10

Remarks :

Good college nice environment good time can be spent have many places to visit if bunking the classes

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life

Remarks :

College needs some more diverse thought process as students come from various background..but allover its a very good college.to boost your carrer.

6 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
6 /10 social life
7 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
K
8.5 /10

Remarks :

College management was good and they were seriously noting our suggestions and instructions.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
WRITE A REVIEW

Students also visited

National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], KurukshetraBE/B.Tech, ₹56.72 K First Year Fees
8.2
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], RourkelaBE/B.Tech, ₹2.25 L First Year Fees
8.4
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], WarangalBE/B.Tech, ₹1.30 L First Year Fees
8.4
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], RaipurBE/B.Tech, ₹1.38 L First Year Fees
7.4
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], SilcharBE/B.Tech, ₹1.48 L First Year Fees
8.1
R V College of Engineering - [RVCE]
R V College of Engineering - [RVCE], BangaloreBE/B.Tech, ₹3 L First Year Fees
8.5
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], South GoaBE/B.Tech, ₹1.44 L First Year Fees
7.3
National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
National Institute of Technology - [NIT], JamshedpurBE/B.Tech, ₹1.88 L First Year Fees
7.8
National Institute of Technology - [NITC]
National Institute of Technology - [NITC], CalicutBE/B.Tech, ₹53.80 K First Year Fees
8.0